Two members of the external Nobel literature prize committee have quit – one over the choice of Peter Handke as this year’s winner and the other over the slow pace of reforms since the sexual assault scandal.

Gun-Britt Sundström, 74, and Kristoffer Leandoer, 57, both resigned from the five-strong panel of “external specialists” that had been set up to “reinforce” the committee of four for 2019/20.