Today, twelve writers, historians, educators and activists received their 2021 National Humanities Medals from President Biden at the White House, in conjunction with the twelve 2021 National Medals of Arts recipients. The awards were delayed to the pandemic.

Writers awarded include

  • Richard Blanco
  • Walter Isaacson
  • Earl Lewis
  • Ann Patchett
  • Amy Tan
  • Tara Westover
  • Colson Whitehead