The 5 Under 35 program, now in its fifteenth year, honors five young fiction writers selected by past National Book Award Winners and Finalists, or previous 5 Under 35 Honorees.

These year’s honorees are:

  • K-Ming Chang, the author of “Bestiary” (forthcoming Sept. 29), selected by Justin Torres
  • Naima Coster, the author of “Halsey Street,” selected by Tayari Jones
  • Raven Leilani, the author of “Luster” selected by Susan Choi
  • Fatima Farheen Mirza, the author of “A Place for Us”, selected by Tommy Orange
  • C Pam Zhang, the author of “How Much of These Hills Is Gold” (review), selected by Marlon James