At Publishing University 2024, held in Denver, the Independent Book Publishers Association announced that the IBPA Benjamin Franklin Book Awards, which honor titles in 57 categories, will be renamed the IBPA Book Awards and celebrate books across seven additional, identity-inclusive categories. IBPA also established a new Jan Nathan Lifetime Achievement Award, in memory of the late Publishers Marketing Association/IBPA founder, to recognize contributions to independent publishing by individuals and companies. IBPA CEO Andrea Fleck-Nisbet informed members of these updates on April 27, and a town hall will be held May 9 to discuss the rebranding.