The winners of the 2021 Windham-Campbell Prizes have been announced. Eight writers, who are being honored for their literary achievement or promise, will receive $165,000 each to support their work.

The prize is administered by Yale University. Two awards are given in each of the following categories: drama, fiction, nonfiction, and poetry.

The winners are: Dionne Brand (Canada/Trinidad and Tobago), Kate Briggs (United Kingdom/Netherlands), Nathan Alan Davis (United States), Renee Gladman (United States), Vivian Gornick (United States), Michael R. Jackson (United States), Canisia Lubrin (Saint Lucia/Canada), Natalie Scenters-Zapico (United States).