Winners have been named in the five Costa Book Awards categories, celebrating “the most enjoyable books of the year by writers resident in the U.K. and Ireland. Each author receives £5,000 (about $6,760) and is eligible for the £30,000 (about $40,560) Costa Book of the Year prize, which will be announced January 26.

This year’s Costa category winners are:

Novel: The Mermaid of Black Conch: A Love Story by Monique Roffey
First novel: Love After Love by Ingrid Persaud
Biography: The Louder I Will Sing by Lee Lawrence
Poetry: The Historians by Eavan Boland
Children’s: Voyage of the Sparrowhawk by Natasha Farrant

(from Shelf Awareness)