Twenty-six new MacArthur Fellows have been announced for 2019. Each will receive a $625,000 grant paid out over five years. According to the MacArthur Foundation each recipient has “shown extraordinary originality and dedication in their creative pursuits and a marked capacity for self-direction.”

Of these, 10 are writers: Elizabeth Anderson (philosopher), Lynda Barry (graphic novelist, cartoonist and educator), Danielle Citron (legal scholar), Annie Dorsen (theater director and writer), Saidiya Hartman ( literary scholar and cultural historian), Valeria Luiselli (writer), Kelly Lytle Hernández (historian), Jeffrey Alan Miller (literary scholar), Ocean Vuong (poet and fiction writer) and Emily Wilson (classicist and translator).